Transferring an active domain name entails changing the domain name registrar that provides the domain name registration service, so after the transfer itself, you will have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS modifications through the new company. The transfer procedure itself is standard with most TLD extensions. Certain country-code extensions are more specific and involve different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain involves several necessary procedures and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The domain lock is a security feature, which is being adopted by more and more registry operators. It’s a standard feature supported by all generic TLDs. If a domain name is locked, it will be impossible to start a transfer procedure, so no one can even try to snatch your domain name. The domain lock can be removed only through the account where the domain is registered in the first place and all new domain names that support this feature are locked by default when they are registered.
Registrar Lock in Shared Website Hosting
If you order a shared website hosting plan from our company, you will be able to administer all domain names registered through us using our Hepsia hosting Control Panel and you will be able to unlock any of them with just several clicks. All registrations will be listed alphabetically in the Domain Manager section of the Hepsia Control Panel and for each one of them you will notice a tiny padlock sign. Clicking it will show you the current security lock status. If the domain is locked and you would like to transfer it, you will just have to click once again and you’ll be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domain names are administered in the very same place as the hosting account itself, you will not have to log in and out of different interfaces.