A password-protected directory or area is a folder that can be accessed only when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people could observe its content. This feature could be used for the main folder of a given website or just for a specific subfolder depending on the needs you have. For instance, when you are building a new site and you do not want people to see it before it's ready, you should restrict the access to it as a whole, and if you want only some people to be able to access particular files, you could password-protect only a certain folder, while the remaining portion of the Internet site may be seen by anyone. In any case, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in the event that the login details the visitor inputs are not right. Even a direct link to a file will not work so long as any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting
With the password protection tool supplied with every shared website hosting plan which we provide, you'll be able to secure any content that you have within your account with simply a few mouse clicks. Due to the fact that the tool is a component of our ground breaking Hepsia CP, it has the same simple interface and you will not need any special skills to use it. When you check out the Password Protection section, you will need to select one of the domains or subdomains which you have within the account and then choose if the protection should be turned on for the main folder or for a subfolder. Then enter the username and the password that you'd like and you shall be all set. A small padlock icon inside the File Manager section will tell you that a specific folder is password-protected. In the very same way you will be able to add a number of usernames and passwords for the same folder if you would like several people to have their own login credentials.